

Bulletin Number 26

September 2010

Griffon Hoverwork 2010 World Championships.

I would like to take this opportunity to say a sincere thank you to all members and friends of the Hovercraft Club of Great Britain for organizing an outstanding World Championship. At the last count there were over 140 hovercraft and 200 drivers ~ a huge logistical task and one executed in a superb manner. Many of the members of the HCGB have in effect put their "normal lives" on hold for the past few weeks to make this Championship possible and to these people we are extremely grateful. I would also like to thank all the drivers who competed at the highest level and presented our sport at its best to the world.

Our past World Championships were the first that have been presented to the world by a live and interactive web cast. There is no doubt that this is the way forward to reach both existing and new supporters and future participants in our sport. I sincerely hope that we will all be able to benefit from this new initiative and commend its use to future hosts of our championships.

As usual this Bulletin will be circulated to as many people as possible but please pass it on to anyone who you think may be interested.

Tony M Drake JP. President of the World Hovercraft Federation.

Griffon Hoverwork 2010 World Hovercraft Championships:

The Hovercraft Club of Great Britain has asked us, on their behalf, to thank all the drivers from around the world who supported this event.

The results of our World Championships, are as follows:

ER		Formula Junior	
1. Team Humbug	GBR	1. Broni Black	GBR
2. BBV racing	GBR	2. Voy Bach	GBR
3. Thunder from Downunder	AUS	3. Lucas Hall	SWE
Formula 35		Formula 50	
1. Bill Baker	GBR	1. Keith Smallwood	GBR
2. Colin Hales	GBR	2. Nick Drew	GBR
3. Rachael Gifford	GBR	3. Fabien Santoulange	FRA
Formula S		Formula 3	
1. Chris Barlow	GBR	1. James Lewendon	GBR
2. Alain Larribe	FRA	2. Ricky Goosey	GBR
3. Jaroslav Balaz	SVK	3. David Lovegrove	GBR
Farmula 2		Farmula 1	
Formula 2		Formula 1	
1. Les Bran	GBR	1. Michele Scanavino	ITA
2. Magnus Ivanoff	SWE	2. Paul Hibbard	GBR
3. Tony Goldney	GBR	3. Daniel Turnbull	GBR

WHF Board Meeting:

Our last Board meeting took place on the 30th August 2010 the day after our World Championships. You and or your Country Representative will shortly receive the formal minutes but there a few items that you may wish to know in advance.

 The following were agreed as WHF office holders until 2012: President - Tony Drake Secretary/Treasurer - Christel Martens Technical Director - James Lewendon Vice President Americas - Kent Gano Vice President Europe - Magnus Ivanoff Vice President Asia - Clinton Buckwell Vice President Africa - not appointed

- WHF Board voting rights have been changed: Each voting country will now have one vote. This vote will be enhanced with one extra vote where that country has had drivers competing in two out of the last three WHF World hovercraft championships.
- A new position of Director of Endurance Racing has been created on the WHF Board. Owen Ellis, Australia, has been appointed to this position.
- Sweden asked the following is added to our Competition Rules
 in the case of a protest the results will still be posted but have PROVISIONAL written on them. The meeting agreed to this.

Further Decisions to be taken by the WHF Delegate Countries:

The following items were also raised as Any Other Business but as they had not been circulated for prior consideration the meeting decided that they would be circulated by the Secretary for e-mail discussion and voting. This will take place over the next few months. IT IS IMPORTANT THAT IF YOU OR YOUR ORGANISATION HAS A VIEW ON ANY OF THESE TOPICS YOU SHOULD MAKE THEM KNOW TO YOUR COUNTRY REPRESENTATIVE AND NOT DIRECTLY WITH THE WHF.

- Ireland proposed to define the maximum engine speed limit for F35 as 3600 RPM.
- There were a considerable number of protests during the 2010 Championships. A proposal came forward to change the protest fee from US dollars to €uro and to increase the level to 100 €uro. If the decision of a protest was appealed to the WHF a further 100 €uro fee would be appropriate.
- The lap scorers from the Griffon Hoverwork 2010 World Championships came forward with the proposal abolish time trials and use the previous World Championship grid position. All drivers attend for the first time or changed formula will be placed on the grid as

they arrive or time them during practice. This brings more time for actual racing.

- Germany proposed that all drivers who finish will at least get one point. This way they will be in the results list, which can be important for any sponsorship.
- In Germany it difficult to find fluorescent crash helmets, there is only one manufacturer. This makes is very expensive and hard to get. Mike Rausch will write a proposal for further discussion by the member countries.
- For manual lap scoring it would be useful to state a maximum number of hovercraft that are allowed on the grid in our regulations. In the last Championships in Formula 50 there were so many craft that it was very hard to score. On the other hand heats take a lot more time and need extra work to make sure the heats and grids are correct.
- Ireland feels that it should be possible to make a protest and deal with it later so the driver can first repair his craft for the next start. As the outcome of the protest can influence the next race this doesn't seem to be the best way.
- Great Britain request that the rule; One craft with the same driver can only go in one formula to be reviewed again.

Future World Championships

Germany has indicated that it may be able to make a bid for 2012 later this year and Poland are hopeful they may be able to make a bid for 2014. If your country wishes to make a bid for these years or into the future please do contact our Secretary.

For your information our Member Country Delegates are:

Please inform our Secretary if your country has made any changes.

Australia	Peter Streader
Belgium	Michel Thiry
Canada	Ross Wease
Denmark	Uffe Andersen
France	Denis Ragot
Germany	Michael Rausch

peter.streader@thomson.net michel.thiry@cybernet.be rwease@gmail.com uffeandersen@hovercraftclub.dk rpm@wanadoo.fr rausch@luftkissen.de

Chris Barlow	<u>chrisbarlow@vfast.co</u> .uk
Soegiarto Soejatono	<u>soejatono@yahoo.com</u>
David Ryan	<u>hoverireland@yahoo.ie</u>
Michele Scanavino	<u>mikiscanavino@libero.it</u>
Kazutoyo Matsuda	<u>matsuda7@mb.infoweb.ne.jp</u>
Japan Hovercraft Ass.	jhover@hovercraft.or.jp
Houssam Chamseddine	calaw@cyberia.net.lb
Siegi Scherrer	<u>hovercraft@intnet.mu</u>
Christel Martens	<u>martens.hovercraft.nl@wxs.nl</u>
Ornulf Ostbye	<u>hovercraftunion@bluezone.no</u>
Jakub Furmanski	<u>biuro@pudoszkowce.pl</u>
Mario Gonzaga Ribeira	fpm@fpmotonautica.org
Captain Tommy Chia	ctw_info@pacific.net.si
Jaroslav Balaz	<u>bj.611@centrum.sk</u>
Alex Muha	info@hovercraft-club.si
Francois Malan	<u>f.malan@hotmail.com</u>
Kenneth Dahlgren	<u>kenneth@premedia.se</u>
Kent Gano	kentgano@bellsouth.net
	Soegiarto Soejatono David Ryan Michele Scanavino Kazutoyo Matsuda Japan Hovercraft Ass. Houssam Chamseddine Siegi Scherrer Christel Martens Ornulf Ostbye Jakub Furmanski Mario Gonzaga Ribeira Captain Tommy Chia Jaroslav Balaz Alex Muha Francois Malan Kenneth Dahlgren

(*) members who have to confirm their email and general information.

Franciscusstraat 41 6681 VP Bemmel The Netherlands Tel: +31 481-450471 worldhovercraftfederation@planet.nl